Nappies Nappies…

Before I became a mum, the things I used to get excited about were things like finding a pretty dress that actually fit me, going to a gig with my husband or visiting our favourite restaurant. Now it’s mostly nappies. Nappies and teva sandals. 😂

Before we had our baby, I knew I wanted to try using reusable nappies. They’re better for the environment, and reduce landfill etc, but the biggest appeal for me was the savings we could make over the years. We’re not rich by any means, so if I can use my money to buy my little boy beautiful books and games instead of nappies, well then reusables are a no brainer! The fact that they’re super cute is just a bonus.

My sister in law uses reusable nappies already, so I was straight on WhatsApp asking her all about it. Her advice was try some different brands, see what you like, don’t jump in until you’re sure. Really good advice, advice that I’d give anyone too, but it’s not what I did! 😂

First of all I followed all the reusable nappy social media accounts, researched how to fit them and what could go wrong, had a look at some different brands online and the reviews people had left, watched the tutorials on YouTube and made my choice! I didn’t feel like I had the money to try out loads of different ones… Since then I’ve learnt that a few companies do a hire service so you can try the nappies out without committing to something that might not be for you.

Even so, having now made my purchase, I feel quite prepared, but that feeling often comes before a disillusion. I’m hoping that won’t happen this time.

Yes, reusable nappies require more work, more washing to do, more skill to fit. I know that my baby at 3 months old is probably still slightly too small for them and they’ll probably leak regularly for at least a couple of weeks until he grows and I develop my nappy skills. I know success is about persistence and developing technique. I know all these things, I just hope I can stick it out, because if I can, then yesterday I ordered most of the nappies I’ll ever need for my future children and that feels pretty good!

Leave a comment